Seventy Times Seven

Then Peter came to Jesus and asked, “Lord, how many times shall I forgive my brother who sins against me? Up to seven times?” Jesus answered, “I tell you,not just seven times, but seventy-seven times! Matthew 18:21-22

Unforgiveness, something that ruins friendships, marriages, and even complete lives. Unforgiveness is something we harbor in our hearts, holding it in our hearts until it cannot be held anymore and permeates our entire lives.

Carrying unforgiveness is like wearing glasses with blinders, you become blind to the good and only focus on your hurt. The funny thing about unforgiveness though, is that it doesn’t hurt anyone but you. The person who caused your hurt may not even ever know you harbor this toward them, in the same sense that this feeling doesn’t hurt the perpetrator, it radically changes the one who carries it.

This is a burden we were never meant to carry. Jesus died for us to be forgiven by our Father, what makes us think that we are just in carrying unforgiveness toward others when the one whom we sin to daily forgives us every time? For some reason in the world we are lead to believe we should love and forgive our neighbors and hate our enemies. How does that make sense? By doing that, we are just as guilty of sin as the one who hurt us.

Love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control. Through the Spirit we are granted those things, do you see anywhere in there “unforgiveness”? I didn’t think so. It’s tough, believe me I know. But when we forgive others for our sins it gives a small glimpse into the Father’s love for us. Forgiveness is what has given us eternal life.

I won’t lie, forgiveness doesn’t come easy; it’s something I still struggle with. I carried unforgiveness for so long against my dad but you will never have true joy if you’re holding on to this burden.

Pray. Pray for yourself, pray for others. These prayers can start off small. Pray for God’s guidance, pray for Him to teach you how to pray the big prayers. Pray for change, not for the situation to change, but for you to change.  Dig deep into the word daily, so that you start seeing Him everywhere.

  • But if you do not forgive men their trespasses, neither will your Father forgive your trespasses. Matthew 6:15
  • Whoever seeks good finds favor, but evil comes to one who searches for it. Proverbs 11:27
  •  Do not judge, or you too will be judged. For in the same way you judge others, you will be judged, and with the measure you use, it will be measured to you. Matthew 7:1-2
19 thoughts on “Seventy Times Seven

  1. “Carrying unforgiveness is like wearing glasses with blinders, you become blind to the good and only focus on your hurt.” This is so true. The devil uses it against us. He makes us think that by holding onto our hurt that we will punish the person who wronged us, but it really only hurts us. We end up missing the good God has given us.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Learning to love your enemies can be so difficult and is a trial that I have been going thru. I have failed lots in the beginning but God spurred me onward and my heart has been changed by the challenge. There is beautiful wisdom found in loving your enemy.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great truth on this difficult way of life we ALL need to be reminded about often. It’s amazing to me how often I need to forgive someone- when that resentment starts to rise within I cling to these verses and pray for peace from the One who forgives me daily. Unforgiveness can sneak into our hearts and settle in when we least expect it too… We must be vigilant to not let it! It takes awareness and faithful intention.

    Thank you so much for this important message!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I agree that unforgiveness can be so debilitating. I harbored it against my mom for years. I have found that we can choose to forgive, however, it is only after acknowledging the wounds, grieving the losses, & healing from the pain, that we are actually able to walk in it. John Beveres book The Bait of Satan totally renewed my mind on the issue of offense & unforgiveness. Thank you for the reminder that none of us are deserving of forgiveness but it is by God’s grace that we have been forgiven & our reasonable response is to forgive others. Much love & grace to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I have recently bee badly hurt…. I have been struggling with forgiveness as we both are on our church leadership team. It has been one of the hardest times of my life but this post has spoken to me… So thank you

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thank you for this reminder! I have been working on this. As soon as I feel hurt or wronged I try to start processing it through prayer and journal. I seek to understand why it made me feel that way. Sometimes I have the “right” to feel hurt, but other times it is me over reacting or the way I interpreted something. But I have learned the more quickly I forgive, not necessarily for them, but for me the more Christ like I can be.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. So true. I held onto unforgiveness for a long time, but had to seek God, soften my heart and let it go. I have learned in the last few years to set boundaries, which has helped my guard my heart against unforgiveness.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

